The Uninvited

by dpreyde

(Scene: Two men walking down the sidewalk in a busy commercial area of town. One of the men- Mike- is white, the other man- Fred- is black)

Mike: Where do you want to eat?

Fred: I don’t know, there aren’t a lot of places in this neighbourhood that’ll let me in.

Mike: Oh, that’s too bad.

(They pass a diner)

Mike: What about this place?

Fred: No, see the sign in the window?

(There is a sign posted next to the front door. It says “No Coloreds”)

Mike: I didn’t even notice that. What about the spaghetti place on Charles Street? It’s fantastic.

Fred: They have the same sign.

Mike: Are you sure?

Fred: Yeah, they wouldn’t let me inside, man.

(They pass a restaurant. It also has a sign in the window)

Mike: I’m getting really hungry, Fred.

Fred: All right, all right. I know this place has a sign in the window, but they let black people in through the kitchen. We just have to go through this alley.

Mike: Really? I’ve never had to do that before.

Fred: I bet you haven’t.

(Scene: Two men walking down the sidewalk in a busy commercial area of town. One of the men- Mike- can walk, the other man- Fred- uses a wheelchair)

Mike: Where do you want to eat?

Fred: I don’t know, there aren’t a lot of places in this neighbourhood that I can get into.

Mike: Oh, that’s too bad.

(They pass a diner)

Mike: What about this place?

Fred: No, see the step in front of the door?

(There’s a step in front of the door about six inches high)

Mike: I didn’t even notice that. What about the spaghetti place on Charles Street? It’s fantastic.

Fred: They have the same thing.

Mike: Are you sure?

Fred: Yeah, I couldn’t get inside, man.

(They pass a restaurant. It has a staircase out the front)

Mike: I’m getting really hungry, Fred.

Fred: All right, all right. I know this place has stairs, but the back door is accessible. It goes right into the kitchen. We just have to go through this alley.

Mike: Really? I’ve never had to do that before.

Fred: I bet you haven’t.

